Marriage Licenses

Requirements:

- 1. Effective October 1st, 2009, couples can only apply for a marriage license in the town where their marriage ceremony is to take place.
- 2. The town that is written on the marriage license is the **only** town in which the applicants can be married.
- 3. Applicants that are 16 and 17 years old, the Probate Court Judge of the jurisdiction in which the minor resides must approve the issuance of the marriage license. If approved, the Judge will provide a court document for the minor to give to the Town Clerk. For applicants under 16 years of age, no marriage license may be issued. (Effective 10/1/2017)
- 4. Applicants must know the date of marriage and the officiator performing the ceremony before they can set up an appointment for a license.
- 5. The marriage application must be filled out and submitted on-line. Applicants should know places of birth for both parents, as well as mother's full **maiden** name. Once the application is submitted, call to make an appointment.
- 6. Applicants for the marriage license must appear in person together for the appointment.
- 7. Identification in the form of a State ID or Passport is required for both parties.
- 8. The statutory fee for a marriage license is \$50.00. A certified copy of the license after the ceremony will cost \$20.00 (As of July 1, 1997, certified copies with social security numbers showing will be issued to the bride and groom only).
- 9. A marriage license is valid for 65 days. (You must get married within 65 days of applying for your license)
- 10. Who may Join Persons in Marriage? Connecticut General Statute Sec. 46b-22 states that the following person(s) are authorized to perform a marriage ceremony:
 - a. All judges, including out-of-state judges who are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in their jurisdictions
 - b. Family support magistrates, state referees and justices of the peace who are appointed in Connecticut
 - c. All ordained or licensed members of the clergy, belonging to this state or any other state.
 - d. If you need a list of Justices of the Peace Manchester Justices of the Peace. You are not required to use a Manchester J.P. this list is offered as a convenience.
- 11. Additional information, Marriage application and JP list are available on our website at www.townofmanchester.org, under Town Clerk's Dept., Marriage License information.